2nd Jan. 2017. The Lookouting at the Ivy Room with Dr Frank (MTX), Surrogate Brains, and The Invalids.

Posted: January 4, 2017 in Gig Review, Random Rant

Tonight’s show wasn’t at Gilman St. but it was still a part of The Lookouting event. Held at this smaller venue in Albany called the Ivy Room, this was going to be the first time I meet Dr Frank of the world famous Mr T Experience in person. For those counting at home, you may remember we interviewed Dr Frank for the podcast in the lead up to the release of his Balbum (book/album) King Dork Approximately. If you haven’t yet heard this incredible interview, you can hear part one HERE and part two HERE.

Arriving to the venue the word had spread that this guy from Australia had come for the event and a few folks outside from the Surrogate Brains had a chat to me about Australian music. Again, it was nice to hear people here love the music of The Hard-Ons, and even more bizarre was meeting someone who really liked Regurgitator. It’s such a great feeling hearing from people who love Australian music. Especially a band as unique as Regurgitator. Well played, USA people!

Dr Frank kicked off the show tonight with a whole slew of fantastic acoustic jams. His witty approach to songwriting is something that I truly am inspired by. I love his records, I love his song structures, and those lyrics… I could only ever dream of writing lyrics that good. He played MTX tunes, solo tunes, and even worked in a reference to one of his next big hits titled Dusty Road 1967. I can’t wait for that song to be finished and recorded. Listeners of the podcast will know the reference. I also cannot wait to see him with the full band this weekend.

Following Dr Frank was Surrogate Brains. Another band whose 7″ I used to see around all the time and when their name fizzled out I never heard from them again and yet here I was, in Albany, California, about to watch them do a reunion show to the small but enthusiastic crowd. They were a lot of fun and I’m sure they had songs about El Salvador or Reagan or about Reagan in El Salvador, whatever, they were a fun band and I really need to dig out that 7″ again as I realised I hadn’t heard it in years.

Closing out the night was The Invalids who had a really good guitar tone. Lots of great high energy Ramones-esque punk rock tunes and I really enjoyed their sound. I didn’t know their stuff before but I need to find it all now. Their guitarist had this whole Johnny Thunders Meets Johnny Ramone kinda swagger / stance about him and he played like a motherfucker. Can’t believe I somehow missed this band before tonight… like they just never appeared on my radar. In saying that though, I’ll probably find I have like two 7″ers and an LP in my collection somewhere.

Tonight was another great night of good times and great tunes. Again I am really stoked to be a part of this whole thing. I now get to rest a little and do some sightseeing before Thursday shenanigans. More on that later.

Leave a Reply

