ANCESTORS – Invisible White (Tee Pee Records / Impedance)

Posted: May 21, 2011 in Album Review
Tags: , , ,

Ok, so we got 3 songs in half an hour. You know, if I had a beard and wore glasses, I’d probably ‘get’ this a lot more than I do. I think I need to be in the right frame of mind to really understand what is going on here. But with the loss of Macho Man Randy Savage over night, I am a little scattered. I mean, Savage was my favourite wrestler as I was growing up. His match against Ricky The Dragon Steamboat at Wrestlemania 3 still remains as one of the best matches of all time. I mean, how many elbow drops did he give in that match? That’s some brutal shit. His elbow drop was the best. But I digress…

Ancestors… there’s 2 songs between 7 and 8 minutes with the 3rd being a 14 minute long epic. The first 2 songs are really here nor there for me. I didn’t hate it, but it’s not something I would just go “Fuck Yeah! Ancestors!” and throw it on to get the party started, Andrew WK style. In fact, I am yet to think of a time I would really crank these first 2 tracks up. Maybe at a  funeral or to help with my insomnia. It just has that slow, drone, shoegaze, mellowness about it. The 3rd track sounded like it should have been on a movie soundtrack… maybe something like Thor or 300. It just has that warrior spirit about it. I am sure Joey DeMaio would agree. It was my favourite song of the 3 cos it had a heaps good solo and probably cos I could see me battling through an army of warriors in slow motion waving a sword around, stabbing dudes on the face, while it played. Or something.

To be honest, Ancestors didn’t really move me a great deal. I ain’t saying it’s crap or anything, it’s just not rocking my boat, dig? I give it 2 and a half dates with Miss Elizabeth out of 5.

Invisible White is out June 17th.

Leave a Reply

