CADDY – “Electric Hero” (Diner Junkie Records)

Posted: March 14, 2011 in Album Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I have said it before and I will say it again, Scandinavian musicians have this incredible knack for writing pop melodies better than most others. I mean, for example: Millencolin, I’m From Barcelona, The Yum Yums, hell, even fucking Abba were riddled with melodies guarenteed to stick in your mind for days on end, if not weeks… months… years! Caddy’s melodies are no different. From the get-go, “Electric Hero” is an infectious hook-laden punk rock album of early Hard-Ons inspired tunes. Fronted by the extremely talented Tomas Dahl (ex-Wonderfools, Turbonegro, The Yum Yums, The Vikings, etc.), this album is 14 tracks of quality catchyness and it’s quite possible that Tomas played every instrument on this album himself. He’s a talented cookie and it wouldn’t be far from the truth.

The opening track, Hanging On To Nothing is as perfect as songwriting can get. A power pop anthem that was so addictive, I needed some kind of methadone to bring me back to earth as this song wouldn’t leave me the fuck alone. it just played over and over again in my head. Even when I was trying to think of something else, I still found myself singing it. And it doesn’t end there. This album continues with songs filled with happy sounds and good rockin’ guitar work. Turn Up The Radio should be ON the radio. Waste of Space reminded me of Turbonegro. It’s all good. Even when the album gets as radio friendly as it can get such as in songs like Dumb Angel and Calling California, it is still acceptable and welcomed with open arms. All of it, it’s really fuckin’ good!

I know fuck all about this band besides this album but I sure hope there is more to come because this album is full of positive vibes and good times. There needs to be more music like this in the world today. Not everything has to be about hating your parents and burning down churches.

www.myspace.com/caddymusic
www.dinerjunkie.com

Comments
  1. Kai says:

    I have their album titled Go Slow, which was released in 2006, and it has the same track listing except the last three songs. Maybe it was released only in Japan. I really like this album.

Leave a Reply

