DEAD KENNEDYS ANNOUNCE AUSTRALIAN TOUR!

Posted: February 9, 2011 in Random Rant
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Australia Uber-Alles Tour 2011

Wow, I never thought I’d see the day when this happened but the good folk at KillRockStar Entertainment are doing the unthinkable. The Dead Kennedys were first in Australia in 1983 and now they are back and ready to shake the foundations of our shores again. Now, I know there is the whole argument of the band without Jello Biafra and believe me, after meeting Jello Biafra and thinking the guy was a downright top dude, I too could easily jump on his side of the fence. The thing is, I grew up with this band. I love those tunes. ‘Plastic Surgery Disasters’ is one of my all time favourite punk rock records. Everything about them was awesome. I followed the band closely through tape trading and managed to score myself a shitload of video footage of the band over the years. This is one segment I do have on tape and since the band is touring again, I feel it is relevant to share it with you now…


(This is not from my own tape, I just found this on youtube)

And I mean, let’s face it, Jello Biafra was the heart and soul of that band. But I think that without the 4 of these guys together, the unique sound and the songs that were born wouldn’t sound the way they do. The Dead Kennedys had a punk sound that was different to the likes of the Ramones, The Clash or the Sex Pistols but what they had was something new and exciting. Those albums still sound as fresh today as they did the first time I heard them in 1988 (yes, I was a late bloomer but I’m not THAT old).

So what am I going to expect from this tour? For me, a celebration of the songs of my youth. I know it’s not going to be as amazing as their shows were in the early 80’s but I also think comparing the 2 is kinda pointless. The guys are older, Jello isn’t with them but the others are still touring, letting us kids who werent old enough to experience it the first time to finally have our turn at enjoying the songs that the Dead Kennedys gave us.

The current line-up has Ron “Skip” Greer on vocal duties. For those not in the know, he fronted a band called the Wynona Riders who released some stuff on Lookout Records. I have a 7″ single and their JD Salinger CD which is pretty cool. I like the tunes so for me, seeing him up there singing for the Dead Kennedys will be an interesting experience. Here’s a song I found on youtube of the Wynona Riders for your listening pleasure…

The rest of the band, Klaus Flouride, East bay Ray and DH Peligro are still the backbone to punk rock’s most controversial group. I say controversial because what they were doing in the 80’s with the Frankenchrist album still remains an important story in punk rock history. Hell, even my mum found Jello Biafra quite interesting. She was watching a Dead Kennedys video with me once while she ironed my clothes for school and thought his views were interesting and he made good points. Either that or she thought he was hot… but I think it was the former.

So anyway, the Dead Kennedys hit Australia in April playing the following dates:

WEDNESDAY 6 APRIL – BILLBOARD, MELBOURNE
Tickets available from www.moshtix.com.au and www.ticketek.com.au

THURSDAY 7 APRIL – HI-FI, BRISBANE
Tickets available from www.thehifi.com.au/brisbane

SATURDAY 9 APRIL – MANNING BAR, SYDNEY
Tickets available from www.moshtix.com.au and www.manningbar.com (1300 762 545)

Tickets on sale 9:00am, Friday 11th of February! (That’s this Friday folks!)

Here’s the link to the Facebook event page.

When the Sex Pistols first toured in 1996 on the Filthy Lucre tour, I went. Why? Cos I knew if I didn’t go and it was awesome, I would have been kicking myself about it. I ended up loving the show. I am sure if I don’t go to this, I will be kicking myself again if I miss it so I will assure you, I’ll be there. Let’s rock! Seeya’s there and I hope they play Moon Over Marin.

Comments
  1. B. Sophie says:

    Nice! Gotta see that!

  2. james says:

    Can’t wait – saw them in 1983 in UK – not expecting the same, but can’t miss this!

Leave a Reply

