CALLING ALL CARS @ Corner Hotel, Melbourne, September 18th, 2010

Posted: September 19, 2010 in Gig Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I was offered some freebie guest list action to last night’s show thanks to the good folk at Shiny. Pretty awesome considering I am a little broke at the moment due to paying bills, my loan off, etc. You get the drill. Anyway, for those who don’t know anything about Calling All Cars, they supported AC/DC on their Australian leg of the Black Ice tour and I reviewed their debut album on this site a few months backĀ which you can read here.

I got to the venue around 9:30pm just as Young Revelry were to hit the stage. From the first note, these guys reminded me of The Black Angels from Austin, Tx but as the set went on, those similarities diminished and their sound became moreĀ like the grunge era; you know,Ā Nirvana and stuff. They were alright. I didn’t mind them at all. Lots of wah pedal noise, reverb vocals and pounding drum beats. The guitarist needs a haircut though. Oh, and apparently, if you don’t like their music “you can fuck off”. That’s a directĀ quote.

Next up was Brisbane’s own Numbers Radio. Never even heard of these guys before (yes, I’m out of the loop) but they brought it bigtime. Good rock songs with high energy on the stage. Dudes were having fun and the guitarist isĀ destined to be a rockstar. I liked their songsĀ and the crowd did too. If I had money, I probably would have bought their CD to play on the radio show. But I don’t so I didn’t. They seemed to have made everyone happy and ready to rock.Ā I’d like to hear them on record now to see if it lives up to their live show. Both the bassist and the guitarist have good voices that work well blended together. Good stuff guys!

Calling All Cars hit the stage in their first headline show at the Corner and they were stoked. The crowd were really into it and the band’s sound on stage was huge for a 3 piece. You could see how happy they were that all of this touring has paid off as they have perfected their live set over time and they have moved to that next level. I am sure they learned a lot from the AC/DC tour about upping your game to put your band that bit further ahead of the pack and it shows. Good stuff. Their set included all the hits from their “Hold, Hold, Fire!” album, a new song and a blistering cover of the Black Rebel Motorcycle Club’s “Whatever Happened To My RockĀ N Roll”. Nice one! They ended off the set with radio favourite, “Disconnect”, sending the crowd into a frenzy and then left the stage as the house lights rose and the venue emptied.

 

http://www.myspace.com/callingallcars
http://www.myspace.com/numbersradio
http://www.myspace.com/youngrevelry

Leave a Reply

