Anyone who knows me personally knows that The Wildhearts are a big deal to me and a bunch of my friends. Why? Just cos they have that something that so many other bands lack. They’re not doing a lot these days but frontman, Ginger, is still active as one of the guitarists in Michael Monroe’s solo band and he also fronts his own solo band. In fact, this solo band has a new album planned. Heaps good! ANYWAY, a good mate of mine, Nick, hosts a vote every week with Ginger where people on Twitter can vote for a movie to watch on the weekend and Nick will find it online and direct you where to watch it. Everything is on there and is yours for viewing. Anyway, it seemed fitting that Nick interviewed his cohort of cinematic bliss. Here is what transpired… take it away, Nick!

Nick: You’re obviously a great movie buff, what initially started your interest?
Ginger: I was lucky enough to be brought up in the 70’s when the art of movies hardened up to reflect the politics of the time. 60’s idealism was replaced by a more paranoid form of expression represented in such hard hitting stuff as The French Connection, The Godfather, The Exorcist and ultimately Straw Dogs and Clockwork Orange. This was my time of wide eyed awe. Before that I was addicted to the movies of the Hammer studios and anything with monsters in it.

Name a movie that you have seen more than 10 times.
Grease, The Godfather, Pee Wee’s Big Adventure and, of course, my favourite of all, The Excorcist. I’ve seen the 80’s films of Italian director, and splatter icon, Lucio Fulci more than ten times each. I’ve seen The Rutles and Spinal Tap way more than 10 times each too, but I think every musician has.

Name an actor who would make you more inclined to see a movie, and an actor that would make you less inclined to see a movie.
I’ll watch anything with Lance Henriksen or Christopher Walken in. Also De Niro makes any movie worth a look. There are tons of great stars that are always wonderful to watch, Tim Curry, Ricky Gervais, Christopher Eccleston, Bruce Campbell, Michael Sheen, Timothy Spall…the list goes on. As far as actors that turn me away, I am allergic to Tom Cruise. I couldn’t watch anything with him in.  

What is the most offensive movie that you have seen?
A Serbian Film takes some beating. And recent stuff like Grotesque and The Butcher are, successfully,  designed to be hard to watch. The Antichrist still makes me squirm when I think of it.

Name a movie you keep meaning to see, but you just haven’t gotten around to yet.
Capitalism: A Love Story by Michael Moore. I only ever see it when I’m falling asleep, and it’s the kind of thing you need to watch when wide awake. I guess it’s more reason to actually buy it, y’know? I have to justify buying every movie I own because I buy so many. Unfortunately I find it quite easy to justify purchasing movies. 
 
Ever walked out of a movie?
Yes, The Mexican with Brad Pitt. Not even sure why I was in the cinema to watch it but I made it through about 15 minutes before I realised that doing anything else was more important than watching this rubbish. I can’t believe I didn’t walk out of The Happening. I guess I was so infuriated at how much that movie insulted it’s viewers that I wanted it to redeem itself in the final reel. It didn’t. I hope M Knight Shyalaman stops making movies.  
 
How often do you go to the movies (as opposed to renting them or watching them at home)?
I will always go to see a movie at the cinema if I’m excited about seeing it. How often? That really depends on how many great movies are being released. The last movie i saw at the cinema was Piranha 3D. I loved it. 
 
Have you considered working in the movie industry in any particular capacity?
Yes, I would like to write my first screenplay soon and get involved from that angle. I’d also like to direct someday and, of course, I’d like to make music for film too. I don’t have any desire to be an actor but I’d like to do any of the other jobs related to making movies. I think I like movies more than music for the most part. 
 
Who would play you in Ginger:The Movie?
Christopher Eccleston as he could play anyone. Michael Sheen seems to be able to play anyone too. Incredible talent.

Finally, what five movies should everybody reading this see immediately?

  1. The Damned United
  2. Mystery Men
  3. Day Of The Beast
  4. The Eye (Pang Brothers version)
  5. The Castle
Who am I kidding, five movies is nowhere near enough. Make sure to follow @gingernyc for more classic movies you should be forced to watch, every Friday. 
 
Also, keep your eyes peeled for a new solo album by Ginger and don’t forget the new Michael Monroe album which is sure to be freakin’ awesome! Oh, what’s that? You’re in the UK and wanna see him live? Well you can! Purchase tickets here, NOW!
 
Leave a Reply

